Thing 2: Open Badges

Thing 1 saw me make the leap into starting my own blog. Thing 2 has me pondering how I see my relationship with open badges developing and how this will impact me professionally both now and in the future.

I am one of those people who loves to learn new things, and where work and my professional life is concerned I don’t just want to know ‘what’ and ‘how’ we should be doing things in day to day practice but I also like to understand the ‘why’.

I have been that way with lots of things over the years, but one thing that is undeniable is my thirst for knowledge including lots of random trivia that I’ll probably never need to recall, music lyrics from countless songs that I suddenly seem to know word for word when they start to play, but they are little nuggets of information that are stored away ‘just in case’.

This is why open badges are right up my street. I get to learn lots of new things, refresh what I already know, and I can fit that learning in around work and home life.

Professionally, open badges will allow me to evidence my ability to do my job well. They will help me to build evidence in preparation for doing my SVQ level 3 in Health and Social Care, therefore in effect giving me a head start. They also have the potential to help me build my knowledge and improve my ability to do my job and allow me to progress up the career ladder at a later date should I choose to go down that route in the future. I like the fact that unlike the in-house training that I currently regularly undertake, open badges can travel with me.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started